Weekly Recap: 5/13/17

This has seriously been the longest week ever. It’s not just me, right? Right? It feels like everything’s been moving at a snail’s pace for the last few days, and it’s somehow even more exhausting than weeks that pass by at a breakneck pace. That said, I have gotten a surprisingly large amount of work done this week, so I suppose I can’t complain too much–there must be something to all these extra hours in these overly-long days.

Recap time!

Story a Day May

Drabbles Completed: 5/5! Setting new goals for myself has really helped to keep me focus, and some of the things I’ve written have actually inspired longer plots for short stories.


This Week’s Posts

Story a Day…ish? 

 


Currently Reading

How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather

 


Read this Week

  • Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman
    An overview of Norse mythology told in simple, yet highly entertaining language. Some of these tales I’ve heard in passing or in somewhat altered forms (thanks, Marvel!), but at no point did I feel compelled to skim or skip over the more familiar bits, largely thanks to Gaiman’s fresh approach to the narratives. If you like mythology or Neil Gaiman–or both!–this one’s definitely worth checking out.
  • Phonogram Vol.1 & Vol. 2 by Kieron Gillen (writing) & Jamie McKelvie (art)
    This comic series about music as magic–and the amazing, awful people who tap into that power, known as phonomancers–is one of my absolute favorites. Weird, dark, funny, and chock full of musical allusions, it’s not necessarily the most accessible series, but if it clicks with you there’s a good chance you’ll love it. This week I decided to reread the first two volumes, and I’ll likely revisit the third, The Immaterial Girl, at some point next week.


     Links of Interest 

  • No lie–this video added years to my life: Tom Holland on Lip Sync Battle

  • This list from BookRiot has drastically expanded my already enormous TBR list. No regrets. 100 Must-Read LGBTQIA YA Books

  • I really, really want to go to BookCon this year, y’all. The lineup is amazing. No, seriously: 2017 BookCon Guests
Leave a Reply

